/* */

Welcome to Massage Specialties CEUS for Your Continuing Education Needs.

My Account
Menu

Oregon Massage Therapy Laws

Does the Oregon Board of Massage Therapy accept Massage Specialties CEUS courses?*

Yes, please read particulars below to see if they apply specifically to you.

Oregon Continuing Education Requirements:  

Unless this is your first renewal period you are required to submit a completed

Continuing Education Form (see reverse)  along with the required proof of Continuing Education (CE).  The total number of CE hours required is 25 per each two year renewal period up to a maximum of 50 CE hours and the minimum number of “contact hours” is half of the total due.

 CPR:  Effective January 1, 2008, you are required to submit proof of current adult basic CPR as part of your Active renewal requirement.  CPR may be submitted for continuing education.  If taken in the presence of an instructor, the hours may be applied toward your “contact hours” for a maximum of 4 hours. 

 Address/Name Changes:  Changes must be submitted in writing via fax, US mail, website or renewal form.  Name changes must be accompanied by legal verification (e.g.  a government issued ID, driver’s license, marriage certificate, passport or divorce decree).  A penalty of up to $1,000 may be imposed for failing to notify the Board within 30 days of any change.

 Please note that as of January 1, 2012 a new law went into effect requiring fingerprinting of all new licensees, LMTs returning from inactive to active or lapsed to active.

 334-010-0050

Continuing Education

The intent of Continuing Education is to protect the public by maintaining and enhancing competencies as defined in OAR 334-010-0047.

(1) Each licensee must complete 25 hours of continuing education in the competencies each renewal period. At renewal time, each licensee must  sign and submit a Board supplied CE form indicating they have completed 25 hours of continuing education.  The Board may require proof of CE hours.

(a) At least 12 hours must be contact hours.

(b) The remaining 13 hours may be contact hours or in areas as defined on the Board supplied CE form.

(2) The continuing education requirement must not apply to a licensee's first license renewal.

(3) Continuing education must be completed within the renewal period. Contact hours taken in excess of the total number

required may only be carried over to the next subsequent renewal period.

(4) Continuing education records must be maintained by each licensee for a minimum of five years.

(5) If the Board finds indications of fraud or falsification of records, investigative action must be instituted. Findings may result in disciplinary action up to and including revocation of the licensee's license.

(6) Failure to complete continuing education hours by the time of renewal may result in revocation, suspension and/or denial of a license. Licensee has 30 days from date of notification of non-compliance to come into compliance. Failure to be in compliance may result in discipline of the license to practice massage.

(7) Continuing education must be in areas related to the practice of massage or bodywork including theory, research, technique or business development.

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 687.081, 687.121 & 687.122

Stats. Implemented: ORS 687.011, 687.051, 687.057, 687.061, 687.081, 687.086 & 687.121

Hist.: BMT 1-1998(Temp), f. & cert. ef. 2-3-98 thru 7-31-98; BMT 2-1998, f. & cert. ef. 7-22-98; BMT 1-2003, f. & cert. ef. 1-24-03; BMT 1-2004, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-04; BMT 2-2004(Temp),

f. & cert. ef. 3-16-04 thru 9-7-04; Administrative correction, 9-28-04; BMT 3-2004(Temp), f.& cert. ef. 10-22-04 thru 4-19-05; BMT 1-2005, f. & cert. ef. 2-23-05; BMT 1-2006, f. & cert. ef.

1-5-06; BMT 1-2009, f. 2-13-09, cert. ef. 3-1-09; BMT 3-2009, f. & cert. ef. 7-2-09

 STOP!  Read the instructions completely before answering the following character questions.

Any FALSE STATEMENT knowingly made in this application is grounds for revocation or suspension of

your license.  If in doubt, disclose and explain rather than conceal.  If you answer ‘no’ to question 4 based upon an “expungement”, order “setting aside” or “sealing” of a record of a conviction or conditional discharge (diversion) you must personally verify with the court directly involved that the expungement, setting aside or sealing actually has taken place.  An erroneous belief that a conviction has been expunged, set aside or sealed, when in fact it has not, will be deemed a false statement.

Please read each question completely.  You must answer each question “yes” or “no”, whichever is true.

            

  1. Since your last active renewal are you currently required to register in this state or any other state as a sex offender?

 

2. Since your last active renewal have you been investigated, disciplined or denied licensure by this or

any other governmental licensing agency?

 

3. Since your last active renewal have you surrendered any professional license in any State, territory

or jurisdiction?

 

4. Since your last active renewal have  you been arrested or convicted for: (a) any felony; (b)

misdemeanor; or (c) any major traffic violation, such as: driving under the influence of intoxicants or

drugs

STOP: Major traffic violations such as: Tickets for Driving under the influence of drugs or                      

intoxicants (even if you received diversion); MUST BE REPORTED!

 

5. Since your last active renewal have you abused or been treated for the abuse of alcohol, a

controlled, or mind altering substance?

 

6. Since your last active renewal have you received any in-patient mental health care for a

psychological, addiction, or chemical dependency issue that affected your ability to safely practice?

 

If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions above you MUST attach a detailed written explanation of the circumstances leading to and the outcome of the situation AND include copies of all related official documentation, including but not limited to: police reports, court documents, final actions and/or order, treating physician documentation, etc.

 

*Please read the full scope of your state laws to be well informed.