/* */

Welcome to Massage Specialties CEUS for Your Continuing Education Needs.

My Account
Menu

New Hampshire Massage Therapy Laws

Does the New Hampshire Massage Board accept Massage Specialties CEUs courses?*

Yes

He-P 902.08  Continuing Education.

 (a)  Licensed massage therapists shall complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education during

each licensing period in accordance with RSA 328-B:4, VII(j). 

 (b)  Continuing education programs shall be:

(1)  Sponsored by a professional association that specializes in massage education;

(2)  Sponsored by a post-secondary institution;

(3)  Instructed by a provider who has been approved by the National Certification Board for

Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork; or

(4)  Instructed by a provider who has been approved by the Federation of State Massage Therapy

Boards.

 (c)  Home study programs shall include books, audio, video or computer programs with passage of a

written examination.

 (d)  Subjects for continuing education supporting the scope of practice as defined in RSA 328-B:2-a

shall be limited to:

(1)  Anatomy;

(2)  Physiology;

(3)  Massage theory;

(4)  Massage techniques;

(5)  Benefits and contraindications of massage; Adopted Rule Effective 12/11/09

Page 11 of 19

(6)  Kinesiology;

(7)  Hydrotherapy;

(8)  Joint movement;

(9)  Allied bodyworker techniques;

(10)  Communicable disease control;

(11)  Hygiene/sanitary practices;

(12)  Ethical/legal aspects of massage practice; or

(13)  Management, administration or supervision of a business practice, which:

a.  Relates directly to the operation of a massage therapy business;

b.  Does not include instruction on computer skills; and

c.  Is limited to 3 hours per licensing period.

 (e)  Teaching massage therapy or the authorship of a published professional massage therapy article or

book shall count towards the continuing education requirements of (a) above subject to the following

restrictions:

(1)  Teaching hours shall be limited to 3 hours per year or 6 hours for the 2 year licensing period;

and

(2)  Authorship hours shall be limited to 3 hours per year or 6 hours for the 2 year licensing

period.

 (f)  Continuing education requirements shall be completed prior to the expiration date of the license.

 (g)  Licensees shall maintain records of continuing education hours.

 (h)  Certificates and documents of evidence of continuing education hours shall be retained by the

licensee for a period of at least 4 years.

 (i)  Certificates and documents of evidence of continuing education hours shall be subject to inspection

by the commissioner.

 (j)  Excess continuing education hours earned throughout the licensing period shall not be carried

forward into the next licensing period.

*Please read the full scope of your state laws to be well informed.